Posted By
snoluvr
Apr 4, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello,
I have been using the "save for web" to see what my photos will look like on a web page before I commit, (after I’ve enhanced them in PSE).
Suddenly I am getting a message, upon hitting the ‘Explorer’ icon in the lower right area of the "save for web" page that says "could not complete this operation because a file by this name already exists".
First, the file is brought up in the PSE2 page from "my pictures", then clicking "save for web", image is resized ect.. then I click on the Explorer icon as I have done a hundred times before only things seemed to have changed on me with this new message and left me bewildered.
WinXP-Home/sp1/
IE6/DSL

Hopefully I’m just missing something real simple here, as I’m relatively new to computers, but I’ve been using this same workflow for a couple of months now with no problems.

Thanks for any help!
snolvr

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

S
snoluvr
Apr 5, 2004
Please?
Can someone one please enlighten me on what this statement implies (other than the obvious, which isn’t obvious to me where this pertains):

"could not complete this operation because a file by this name already exists". My question:
Since when? why?
-I’ve been searching for some clues about this throughout the forum, I saw dialog on "file naming", "illegal characters", and such, but couldn’t relate since I hadn’t changed file names..
maybe I’ve just got alot to learn 🙂
Thank you kindly for any ideas,
snoluvr
BG
Byron Gale
Apr 5, 2004
Sno’,

I’ll take a guess that it may be related to temp files that have not been automatically removed.