Posted By
Brett_Binns
Aug 20, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Using Photoshop CS under Windows 2000 SP 3

The images are coming from a Canon G2 camera along with ZoomBrowser EX 4.6 for uploading images to the computer.

Both RAW and JPG images shot on Canon G2 and uploaded via ZoomBrowser. Dates on both file formats look good in ZoomBrowser and within Photoshop CS’s File Browser’s Metdata "Camera Data(Exif)" fields.

Windows Explorer "Created" and "Modified" also appear correct under Properties (i.e. seen via Properties via right button under Windows Explorer).

But Photoshop CS’s File Browser’s Metdata "File Properties" "Date Created" and "Date Modified" are both wrong (both date and time portions) for both file formats.

Just a guess as I am actually a software developer: Looks like a binary date byte swap problem in that the resulting date portions vary widely (everything from 1929 to present) and may actually be a date encoding of the time portion of the data.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

GA
George_Austin
Aug 20, 2004
Brett,

I confirm your experience. My dates are all over the map and span decades. Results are not attributable to the camera’s date/time setting. I’ve filed the problem under "To be resolved" meaning I’m not actively seeking to fix it, so glad you asked.

George
JJ
John_Joslin
Aug 20, 2004
I confirm your experience

Ditto.

Please, can we call this a bug?

JJ
IL
Ian_Lyons
Aug 20, 2004
This appears to be a problem on both platforms but so far as I know Photoshop is not the cause.

If you recheck your Modification and Creation dates via Properties you can often find that the modification occurred before the creation. Sometimes the creation date doesn’t exist at all.

With File Browser on the Mac the creation date is missing and on the PC it’s anyones guess between missing, 1900 and ?