EV
Posted By
Emily_Von_Oswald
Jul 2, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m looking for a way to create text boxes or columns in Elements – essentially, to use Elements for page layout.

Any suggestions? Are there ways to restrict the usable area for a single layer? I fooled around with masking layers, but this isn’t what I need.

[I’ll need somewhat explicit instructions – I’m new to this.]

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

MM
Mac_McDougald
Jul 2, 2004
I think you’ll find that the general consensus will be: don’t use Elements (or even full Photoshop) for this purpose.

Photoshop’s text handling is poor, Elements’ is even worse.

Use proper tool: Illustrator, InDesign, Quark, PageMaker, even Word or PowerPoint is going to be better for this purpose than Elements.

M
JM
Joy_M
Jul 2, 2004
Emily,

Mac is right. I know of someone who is creating an action plug-in to allow PE2 to kern and track text. But that will still not be good enough for page layout with a lot of text. And there is no spell checking. You can import text files from other programs. Go to File>Import. If you want to add some of the neat Style effects Photoshop has to offer to the text, then create the text in the best text program you have and do the copy and paste technique. I believe the text will be converted to a graphic image you can stylize. However you cannot no longer edit then.

Joy
SB
Stu_Bloom
Jul 2, 2004
Thinking of trying to use Elements as a page layout program causes me to recall those poor souls some 20 years ago who insisted on trying to do word processing in Lotus 1-2-3.

Yes, it can be done.

But why would anyone want to?
RR
Raymond Robillard
Jul 2, 2004
Time to call Adobe and ask for… In Design Elements.. 😉

Ok, the product doesn’t exist, but it would surely be something super if Adobe would release such a product.

Ray
KL
Kenneth_Liffmann
Jul 3, 2004
Emily,