How create enlarged clear text and blurred background?

SP
Posted By
Susan P
May 17, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello, I am new to Photoshop and Paint Shop Pro. I have access to both on a PC. I have worked out how to do half of the steps of a task. Can someone help me with the rest please?

I want to end up with an image of a document which has a clear rectangle of enlarged text with the rest of the document blurred. How can I do that?

I can get this far:
(1) scan the document – which is probably going to be a jpeg (2) read it in to PSP or Photoshop
(3) select a rectangle
(4) blur outside the rectangle (not Photoshop as I can’t find "Invert")
(5) HOW DO I ENLARGE THE RECTANGLE OF TEXT?

I will be pleased if the result of enlarging the text is either:

(a) enlarged text within the rectangle so that the edges of the block of clear text in the original selection would get lost,

(b) the rectangle of text itself is all enlarged so that the new larger rectangle overlaps more of the blurred background.

Thank you for any help!
Susan

PS: I am not too good on these layers!

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

May 17, 2006
"Susan P" wrote in message
Hello, I am new to Photoshop and Paint Shop Pro. I have access to both on a PC. I have worked out how to do half of the steps of a task. Can someone help me with the rest please?

I want to end up with an image of a document which has a clear rectangle of enlarged text with the rest of the document blurred. How can I do that?

I can get this far:
(1) scan the document – which is probably going to be a jpeg (2) read it in to PSP or Photoshop
(3) select a rectangle

(a) enlarged text within the rectangle so that the edges of the block of clear text in the original selection would get lost,

(b) the rectangle of text itself is all enlarged so that the new larger rectangle overlaps more of the blurred background.