DK
Posted By
Douglas_Knapp
Feb 25, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am very new to Photoshop. Only one week. I am trying to put an ad together for our company. I have Photoshop 8 and am trying to use a clipping path or background erase to take the background out of a jpg image. Everyone else I have spoken with has ver 6 and they aren’t much help. Could someone please step me through how to do this? It would be greatly appreciated.

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

BH
Beth_Haney
Feb 25, 2004
Elements doesn’t "do" clipping paths, so you’ll need to go to the full PS forum. You don’t say if you’re on a Mac or Windows machine, so here’s a link to the Photoshop Lounge. It’s not what you need, but there are links to the other two forums just above the list of topics on the Lounge page.

<http://www.adobeforums.com/cgi-bin/webx?14@@.1de5f598>

(Hmmm. I wonder what happened that people are having trouble getting to the forums for full PS today; this is the second time today people have been misdirected. Strange.)
DK
Douglas_Knapp
Feb 25, 2004
I am very new to Photoshop. Only one week. I am trying to put an ad together for our company. I have Photoshop 8 and am trying to use a clipping path or background erase to take the background out of a jpg image. Everyone else I have spoken with has ver 6 and they aren’t much help. Could someone please step me through how to do this? It would be greatly appreciated.
J
JasonSmith
Feb 25, 2004
Is the image going to be placed in page layout software? Or is it staying in Photoshop?
DK
Douglas_Knapp
Feb 25, 2004
I plan on saving the image into a EPS format and placing it into Illustrator.
J
JasonSmith
Feb 25, 2004
Ok, then you DO need a clipping path as opposed to a mask…

Select the pen tool.