J
Posted By
jor
Jul 4, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m new to Macs after many years on PCs. Anyhow, I have a new iMac with the dual core Intel chip and one gigabyte of RAM. I like this machine a LOT but it seems to me that PS Elements runs more slowly than it should with a gig of memory. Is this typical? Thanks.
jor

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

R
Rinus van Schajik
Jul 4, 2006
On 2006-07-04 06:58:36 +0200, jor said:

I’m new to Macs after many years on PCs. Anyhow, I have a new iMac with the dual core Intel chip and one gigabyte of RAM. I like this machine a LOT but it seems to me that PS Elements runs more slowly than it should with a gig of memory. Is this typical? Thanks.
jor

Yes it is normal, well for now. CS2 runs under Rosseta and that slows it down. next year there will be CS3 that runs native and will work better.
J
jor
Jul 4, 2006
On 2006-07-04 03:40:50 -0700, Rinus van Schajik said:

jor

Yes it is normal, well for now. CS2 runs under Rosseta and that slows it down. next year there will be CS3 that runs native and will work better.

Thanks for your reply. I hope Adobe upgrades Elements along with the CS product. It’s disappointing having this hotshot chip that underperforms. Otherwise, it’s fine. I’m using Unison for a newsreader (just found it yesterday) and Mail & Safari for email and browsers. I’m used to Thunderbird and Firefox but I am trying to be a true Apple person.
jor
J
jor
Jul 5, 2006

jor

Well, I’m going to put another gig of RAM in this thing and see if that will speed it up. I’ll post results. Speaking of posting, I note that this group isn’t very active. Is there a more lively Photoshop group around? Thanks.
jor
BS
Bob Somethingorother
Jul 6, 2006
In article wrote: