LO
Posted By
Lee_Olson
May 14, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am about to get a Mac and have three years worth of images (I’m a photographer) on my hard drive. I’ve worked very hard on these and am concerned about how they will look on a Mac computer. Has anyone been through this? If so, how did everything look and what adjustments, if any, am I going to have to make?

Thanks in advance.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

B
BobLevine
May 14, 2005
The files are completely crossplatform compatible. If you have color management set up properly they’ll like exactly the same.

Bob
HK
Harron_K._Appleman
May 14, 2005
Lee,

…concerned about how they will look on a Mac computer.

Do you mean within Photoshop or in general? If the former, then, assuming you’ve had a color-managed workflow (calibrated monitor, known workspaces, embedded profiles), using the same color settings in Mac Photoshop will ensure things look the same.

Has anyone been through this?

I go back and forth between the two platforms on an almost daily basis, not only with Photoshop images but also with other Adobe app documents. Other than occasional font issues, this is a completely transparent process. I wouldn’t worry about it.

=-= Harron =-=

{Bumped by Bob… more proof that we were separated at birth.}
LO
Lee_Olson
May 14, 2005
Thanks, guys. To clarify, I meant viewing in and out of PS. I am a hobbyist, not a professional photographer, and therefore did not set up any calibration or color management. Now, in hindsight, I see that may have been a mistake. Not having done that am I going to see drastically different images after the switch?
HK
Harron_K._Appleman
May 14, 2005
I meant viewing in and out of PS.

Outside of color-managed applications, all bets are off.

…did not set up any calibration or color management… Not having done that am I going to see drastically different images after the switch?