"Step Backward" and "Step Forward" should treat switching to/and from a layer as

HV
Posted By
Herman_van_Boeijen
Dec 18, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
First some background info:
I have CTR-Z mapped to step backward.
Using two different shortcuts for "undo" (one step back) and "Step Backward" (Multiple steps back) makes no sense to me. As such, I rarely use the regular undo, and do not have it mapped.

The case:
When I switch to a new layer, do a brush stroke and undo it, photoshop treats my undo as a switch back to the layer I came from. This happens a LOT, and not just to me, but to a lot of designers I know (I’m a GUI designer at a game company). Some of them have even formed a habit of "erasing" a bit in an empty part of the layer, just in case the’d later want to undo. That’s bad.

My proposed solution:
-First undo my stroke, Leave my selected layer alone.
-On a NEXT press of "Step backward" change my current layer to the one I came from.

Thanks for reading this far! 🙂
If this post sounds harsh, please keep in mind it’s the ones you love most, that hurt you most 😉

Kind regards,
Herman.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

JJ
John Joslin
Dec 18, 2008
I would say this is more like a "feature request" which has a place at the top of this forum list.
HV
Herman_van_Boeijen
Dec 18, 2008
I see your point.

I myself think it’s more of a bug report or feature modification though, since the "Step Backward" erroneously clumps two of my actions into one.

I’ll see if I can move it to a more appropriate place, thanks!
DM
Don_McCahill
Dec 18, 2008
Its only a bug if it doesn’t work the way the programmer intended. If it doesn’t work the way you think it should, it is a feature request.
HV
Herman_van_Boeijen
Dec 18, 2008
Indeed! Someone must have made this as a conscious decision.

How do you (the people reading this) feel about this design?