Posted By
Jane Carter
Aug 1, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Good morning,
I need a DVD player so that we can play movies for the grandkids(I dont want my powerbook in the living room with wires into the TV, as it could get broken).

But I also would like to use the player to show jpg pictures that I have recorded on my Mac. I have made regular CDs with pictures, and haven’t made any DVDs yet, but need to know a bit more about this before I decide what to buy.
I assume that I can make slide shows? With the powerbook I can run slide shows, but would like to have a DVD player to do it.
As you all can see, I am not very good at Television related stuff, VCRs and whatnot. Thanks in advance,
Jane

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

PD
Pete_D
Aug 1, 2004
Jane,

Here is a consideration;

An inexpensive Cyber Home DVD player I got at Sam’s club for $30 or $40 will show jpgs as a slide show. I was surprised one day when I put a CD with jpg images in, hit play and the slide show started. It also plays mpeg video clips, like those you can download from the imternet. And also plays DVD movies of course.

I tried the same CD’s with jpg’s and mpeg’s on other peoples DVD players and they would not work. The more expensive players could not recognize the files.

Pete
PD
Pete_D
Aug 1, 2004
An inexpensive DVD player I got at Sam’s club for show jpgs as a slide
show. >

Wanted to clarify this: The jpg’s were NOT saved as a "slide show". They were just jpgs that I had saved to a CD and the DVD player goes from one to the next automatically.

Pete
JC
Jane Carter
Aug 1, 2004
Hi Pete, This sounds just like what I want!
We have a Wall Mart and an independent appliance/electronics store nearby, and I will go over there and see. Maybe they would let me try one of my picture cds just to see if it works.
Thank you!
Jane
JD
Juergen_D
Aug 1, 2004
Pete,