JM
Posted By
Joseph_Mouhanna
May 29, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m scanning images using a Nikon LS-2000 scanner. The images are scanned in TIFF format, in 12 Bits per pixel. When I try to open up an image in Photoshop Elements 2, it tells me that the document is in an unsupported color depth, and asks me if I want to convert to default color depth.

I am new to Photoshop Elements 2 and I have several questions:

1. If I do convert, and then save, I see that the file size has been cut in half (started out with a 37 MB file and I ended up with an 18 MB file). If the color depth was increased from 12 bits to 16 bits, I should end up with a larger file. What’s going on?

2. What is the default color depth?

3. When I select one of the 12 BPP images in Photoshop Elements, it indicates on the left side that the color depth is 16 bits, when I know it’s 12. What’s going on?

4. How do I change the color depth of an image?

Regards,
Joseph

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

MM
Mac_McDougald
May 29, 2004
Your scanner has 12 bit firmware capability.
Images are either 8 or 16 bit.
So either you must save in 8 bit, where the 12 bits are analyzed and the best 8 bits are used, or save in 16 bit, where all twelve bits are used and the extra 4 are either interpolated or padded with zeros (I forget which).

At any rate, I have a LS2000, but I haven’t used the NikonScan software in sometime (I use VueScan). You must be saving at 16 bit. Elements can’t do 16 bit so opens your file at 8 bit. And yes 16 bit files are exactly twice as big as 8 bit.

8 vs. 16 bit editing is one of the digital imaging jihads. There are entire libraries of info re this if you want to Google, or peruse UseNet archives for comp.periphs.scanners and/or rec.photo.digital. Histograms prove that many editing funcitons in 16 bit are less destructive and all around better.