Posted By
Tom_Liles
Jul 19, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi Guys,

So, I (think I) have an issue with my display resolution in CS3.

I’m very new to photoshop so please bear with me; but I will try my best to explain the problem:

OK so, images I’ve taken with my DSLR appear fine in iphoto and preview – zooming in, or zooming out, doesn’t alter the appearance of the image’s edges – they appear as I’d expect (at the respective zoom factor).

I have stepped up to Ps (CS3) to play with my photos now, but hold the phone! When I open up an image in Ps the edges of lines are "jaggy."

The typical zoom factor Ps opens up my images at is 33.33% – if I zoom in once (50%), or zoom out once (25%) – the edges appear as they did in iphoto, and preview, i.e., not jaggy. Zoom out once more (16.67%), or zoom in twice from that default open size (66.67%) – and there’s the jaggies back again.
So from the open size (33.33%), every odd number of zooms (in or out) gives me "true" appearance; and every even number of zooms (say, 0 for the default open size, 2 for zooming in twice, -2 for zooming out twice, etc.) gives me jaggies…

Being a newbie, I have no idea what is going on here – or even if "resolution" is the right word to be using regarding this topic – but it seems to me that I might have somekind of display setup problem. I’ll list my system specs below; but why is Ps’s zoom not working the way I’d expect – correctly as it does in my other viewing applications? And how can I fix it?

(not having "true" appearance at any level of zoom is obviously problematic if I want to be looking at sharpening, etc. Not to mention the general "what you see is /not/ what you get"-ness of it all is really frustrating)

Tom’s System:

iMac 24in
OSX 10.5.4
Adobe Photoshop CS3 10.0.1

and I think the video card/display setting might be important so:

ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro
LCD display type
1920 x 1200 resolution
32 bit color