KM
Posted By
Kyle_M_Hughes
Oct 18, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
First, let me start off by saying that I live for Photoshop. Maybe that will add to the seriousness of the problem.

Now, I’ve been using Photoshop for about 2 years, and I have never had a problem. Until now. I started up Photoshop the other day, and started to design a banner for my blog. So, I go to Fill>Color, so I can fill the background with a nice, deep gray. To my surprise, everywhere on the color selection screen where there was gray, there is now BROWN! I played around with different things for about an hour, to no avail. Does anyone have any suggestions? Because unlike Microsoft, I hate brown.

So, whenever I got to near the black on the color selection screen, there is brown. Here is a link to a screenshot.

<http://www.kinkymedia.net/images/brownphotoshop.png>

I am using Photoshop CS 2.
I have re-installed Photoshop, and done everything I can think of just to reset the colors, all to no avail.

Is there anyone that can help me?

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

B
Bernie
Oct 18, 2006
I see no problems with that screen shot. the colour values you selected are for a shade of brown.

To get grey, you need equal values of R, G and B
KM
Kyle_M_Hughes
Oct 18, 2006
I know that. But the thing is, where the brown is in the lower left-hand corner, there is normally gray. That is where my problem is.

Oh, and I found out something odd. If I choose one of the dark browns in the left-hand corner, it appears brown in PS. But when I save the file as, say, a .PNG, the dark brown has turned to dark gray. So that means that Photoshop is just showing a different color than it should. It’s annoying, nonetheless.
L
LenHewitt
Oct 19, 2006
Create a new monitor profile – the one you are using is bad.

See the FAQ: