RG
Posted By
Randy Green
Jan 5, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
OK, I don’t want to start a riot, but Im a longtime Windows user/photographer who is tired of how Windows slows down over time (especially with Photoshop’s cache fragmenting the files). From my observations, Macs don’t do this. I know that Linux on my unit never slows down.

So is there anyone in the group who have switched to Mac from Windows units and have any encouragement about springing for one of the biggie dual processor units in the OS X world??

Randy

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

J
jeffc
Jan 6, 2005
I have Mac and PC and SGI Unix. I like all three for specific tasks. As an artist, I love my mac. You’ll get a lot of replies on this topic, but I think if you could condense all the top steam it would come down to "Mac is the artist’s machine".

I also love the interface. It is the computer you would design if you could. The PC has its place, but getting around on it it harder than it needs to be. I had a hard working Mac Quadra that was TEN (10) years old before I replaced it. Can’t say that about any pc.

My 2 cents,
Sterling

Randy Green wrote:

OK, I don’t want to start a riot, but Im a longtime Windows user/photographer who is tired of how Windows slows down over time (especially with Photoshop’s cache fragmenting the files). From my observations, Macs don’t do this. I know that Linux on my unit never slows down.

So is there anyone in the group who have switched to Mac from Windows units and have any encouragement about springing for one of the biggie dual processor units in the OS X world??

Randy
RG
Randy Green
Jan 7, 2005
Sterling —

How does the speed of, say, Photoshop compare between the two? Although my
3.06 Ghz Intel machine with hyperthreading is about as fast as they get, I