Technically, How does the Art History Brush work?

DS
Posted By
david_sprouse
Apr 22, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
OK, This request is a bit odd, but I’m hoping someone out there is a developer type that can specifically answer my questions.

Background: I am a college student at MSCD in Denver taking a course in Alternative Methods to Computer Science Education.
The purpose of the course is to generate more interest in Jr High and High School students in Computer Science Technologies. The approach I am trying to take involves using Photoshop’s (7 and CS) Art History tool to show the relationship of how tools, such as this, use Computer Science concepts and technologies as an artistic tool.

The delima. (questions),

1. How does the art history brush store its working data? Is the data from each use of the brush stored in an array, in a memory queue, stack or just what? When one takes a "snapshot" , (assuming an array approach) does the snapshot become indexed as the 0 element of a new array, indexed in a seperate array, or what?
2. When using an art history brush, how does it determine which pixels to average into the new brush color. If I set a hard brush to 80, for instance, I presumed it would average all the pixels in the circumference of 80 pixels. Some experimentation though seems to indicate the averaging happens only at the center of my brush. But what determines the center?
3. What exactly are the area and tolerance methods doing?

I know this may be a bit bazar for this group, but since I cannot afford to belong to the developers forum, I thought I would ask here.

Thanks, in advance, for any input from those who may be in the know. Please respond only if you know how the technology of the art history brush is applied. Speculations won’t help my delima.

David Sprouse

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

R
Ram
Apr 22, 2004
… bazar …