C
Posted By
crabshell
Feb 8, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Opionions please. I’m not a pro photographer but require output better than my 1280. What do I get for the extra $300 vs. the cost of an 1800? Do the 1800’s hi-glass inks work on matter art paper or is the printer limited to photo paper stocks?

TIA

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

C
Clyde
Feb 8, 2006
crabshell wrote:
Opionions please. I’m not a pro photographer but require output better than my 1280. What do I get for the extra $300 vs. the cost of an 1800? Do the 1800’s hi-glass inks work on matter art paper or is the printer limited to photo paper stocks?

TIA

I don’t have either printer, but do have the R800. It is the 8.5" version of the R1800.

It certainly prints very beautifully on matte paper. It should, it has a black ink designed just for matte paper. It also has a black ink for glossy paper. I’m not sure how, but it will actually use both black inks on semi-gloss paper. It doesn’t use the Gloss Optimizer on matte paper.

In the MANY reviews I’ve read between these two printers, the general result is: use the R1800 if you are primarily a color printer. Use the 2400 if you are primarily a B&W printer.

This makes sense when you look at the inks. The 2400 has those extra shades of black/gray to give you a smoother B&W picture. It also has a deeper DMAX, so your blacks will be even blacker on those premium matte papers. These are all key to the best B&W prints that you can make.

While the R1800 will print absolutely lovely B&W prints, it is aimed more for the color printer. There are no gray inks here. OK, at the highest resolution setting, you certainly can’t see that without magnification. The DMAX on matte paper will satisfy 99.9% of photographers.