C
Posted By
CindySingleton
Sep 9, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Which one should I get? I’ve had an Epson Stylus 600 that has given me NO problems for 7 years, so I am naturally drawn to Epson. I’d like to do my own fine art and portrait printing so I can control the quality and delivery time myself. Considering just the print quality and headache production . . . which one is best?

~Cindy

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

DP
Daryl Pritchard
Sep 9, 2003
Hi Cindy,

I have no experience with either printer, but I don’t see Canon claiming any more than a 25-year period for lighfastness, whereas Epson claims as much as 80 years for the 2200 with their UltraChrome inks. I’m guessing that the 2200 is overall more likely to be the printer considered recommended for archival printing, so it may hold an edge over the i9100.

Regards,

Daryl
Y
YrbkMgr
Sep 9, 2003
I had the same 600, and when it died, I had to choose as well. I happened to choose the Epson 1280, but that Canon was a strong contender. In the end it boiled down to familiarity, and my (probably unfounded) fear that I wouldn’t get as comprehensive support with the Canon in terms of Color Management and profiles, since Canon has a smaller user base, and my guess was that less work had been done. That’s another way to say, if I have trouble with my epson, there are plenty of people who can help.

That said, that Canon is a NICE printer, and someone in this forum who I respect uses it, so I suspect that it’ll be hard to go wrong.

Peace,
Tony
R
Roberto
Sep 9, 2003
I ask where is the proof of the 80 years or even the 25 years. Their accelerated testing methods and rating are based on museum type display and storage. Read the fine print. In real life I doubt either one hanging on a wall in light is going to last.