crush1000
Sep 24, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi,

I have a serious problem with my version of Photoshop 7.0

When I first setup my photoshop as I have always done, I clicked through and chose a random answer to a dialog box that appeared thinking nothing of it cause I had never had any trouble before setting it up. Apparently, the dialog box was unique to my monitor type. I have a samsung that has three settings (Text, Internet, Entertain). Whatever I chose, now any thing I work on in Photoshop is considerably darker than it actually is outside of Photoshop. I have uninstalled and reinstalled, deleted every registry I could find that I believed relevant to Photoshop, and tried reinstalling and I can’t seem to get that dialog back or find a place in the program to change the settings to fix this.

If anyone has any idea how to fix this please let me know. I am a web designer who uses Photoshop for nearly all of my graphical work and I’m really stuck now. Thanks.

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

K
Klaas
Sep 24, 2003
A little difficult to answer, as we don’t know what the dialog box that you’re referring to is, but I’ll take a guess that it is the Colour Settings.

In the Edit menu, you should see "Color Settings", select that, and tell us what the settings are – it may be that your default colourspace is wrong for your setup/monitor.

Also, have you run Adobe Gamma? This is a colour management applet in the Control Panel (assuming Windows) that calibrates your monitor.

If this doesn’t help, check out Ian Lyon’s site <http://www.computer-darkroom.com/ps7-colour/ps7_1.htm> on colour management in Photoshop 7 – fifteen minutes in there should get you sorted.

cheers
Klaas
Y
YrbkMgr
Sep 24, 2003