JR
Posted By
James_Ramsay
Jul 13, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I have been using PE 1 for several years on a Mac G4 and OS 9.2. I have just purchased PE 2 (downloaded) and have a question to which I can find no answer, or reference, in PE Help or the archives of this forum.

In order to open the images acquired and worked on in PE 1, must I retain the PE 1 application on the computer, or is there some way to modify them en masse so they can be opened in PE 2?

Thanks in advance,

Jim Ramsay

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

BB
Barbara_Brundage
Jul 13, 2004
You don’t need to do anything at all to them. Just open ’em up in PE 2 and go.

BTW, if you want to, you can keep PE1 and PE2 on the same computer without any trouble.
JR
James_Ramsay
Jul 14, 2004
Thanks Barbara for your quick reply. I’m afraid that my question wasn’t; clear enough. I was hoping that there was a way to open a folder of, say, ten pictures originally saved in PE 1, and be able to click on any of them and have them open in PE 2.

I didn’t want the extra step of opening PE 2 and then selecting and opening individual pictures from the dialog box.

I should have done a little experimenting with PE 2 before rushing into print, because I have discovered that the ‘Browse’ feature is just what I wanted.

Jim
BH
Beth_Haney
Jul 14, 2004
I’m glad you found the Browse feature, because it’s the best way to do what you want. In OS X there is a way to change the file association from PSE 1 to PSE 2 so you can double click on any of your files and have it open in the new version. That’s one of the biggest improvements over OS 9 (which I still use on this computer and continue to love for some reasons!)

Master Retouching Hair