BI
Posted By
Bill_Ihnow
Apr 13, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am new at this but having a great time working on it. I have some old black and white photos that have some cracks, scratches etc. I have tried to remove them but no luck. I went into the Filter, then Noise, then Dust & Scratches. A screen comes up that has Radius-Pixels and Threshold-levels. You can change this or cancel. At this point I am lost. Am I on the right track. Any suggestions or ideas. I tried a couple of tutorials that covered just about everything but this. Help! and thanks.

Bill Ihnow

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

PD
Pete_D
Apr 13, 2004
Bill,

I always start first with a levels adjustment. Enhance / Adjust Brightness and Contrast / Levels.

Move the left slider to the right under the highest peak there, then move the right slider to the left. Then use the middle to adjust out as much as you can before going on to more intense corrections like cloning, painting etc etc.

Pete
BH
Beth_Haney
Apr 13, 2004
Most people find using the Clone tool to be the best method for getting rid of cracks and scratches. You might also want to try using it at different levels of opacity; something less than 100% can sometimes help to get the corrections blended with the original a little better. I usually work with the Clone tool set to Unaligned.
SS
Susan_S.
Apr 14, 2004
One method of using the remove dust and scratches filter without killing detail – very useful for old photos with large backgrounds (this is in Scott Kelby’s Elements book for photographers)
Duplicate the background layer, use the Dust and scratches filter to remove the dust and scratches – threshold to zero, radius to the right as far as you need to remove the worst of the blemishes.