KK
Posted By
Ken_Kovak
Feb 29, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am new to Photoshop Elements and am having trouble figureing this out. I have a scanned 35 mm slide. When I go to Image_Resize_ Image Size Is see that Pixel Dimensions are 3245 x 2172 and the Document Size is 1.352 x 0.905 inches at 2400 pixels/inch.

What is the best way to resize this to create an 8×10 that I will print on a Canon i960?

Also, some crop will be needed to get to the aspect ratiio for a 8×10. The crop tool does not seem to show the aspect ration anywhere.

Thanks in advance
Ken Kovak

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

BH
Beth_Haney
Feb 29, 2004
First, in order to get this scan large enough to make an 8 X 10, you’re going to have to resize. I just did a sample of the same size, and 265ppi will get you just above 8 inches in width so you can crop out your exact size.

When I’m unsure of what resolution to use to get my desired size, I like to play in Image>Resize>Image Size. First, make sure there is NO checkmark in the box next to Resample Image. Then start playing with different resolutions. Each time you reduce the resolution you’ll increase the dimensions of the image. Insert various number into the resolution box, and you’ll see what I mean. As I said, it looks to me like 265 will get you where you want to be.