DR
Posted By
Denice_Rodriguez
Jun 30, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I hope that someone could offer some assistance. I’ve just purchased Photoshop Elements 2.0 and need specific help in animating gif’s. I need to use 4 different photos so that they change from one to the other. I’m having a tough time trying to understand how to do this in layers. I am very new at using this type of program. Any help or advice will be appreciated!

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

BG
Byron Gale
Jun 30, 2004
Denice,

You first should set up all of your images so that they have the same pixel dimensions. I suggest that you make a copy of each photo and then crop them all to the same size.

Once all of them are the same size, you need to "stack" them together into one file. Decide which image you wish to be the first frame of your animation, and use it as the main file. Have it open on your workspace, but shrink the image’s window so that you’ll be able to see the other photo windows.

Select the image you wish to be the second frame. From that image’s Layers Palette, click-drag the image’s icon into the image window of your main file – while hovering in that window, hold the SHIFT key, then release the mouse. This adds a copy of your second image to the first as a new layer. You can close the second image’s window, as you no longer need to see it.

Repeat for the third and fourth images – so that you end up with a 4-layered file – with each image on a layer.

Click File > Save for Web…

On the right-hand side of the window, beneath the word "Settings", select GIF. A bit below that option, click to select Animate.