JC
Posted By
John_cranmer
Feb 14, 2007
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I have a problem. I am preparing large numbers of bitmap artwork for animation in After Effects and I’m looking a quick way to cut up large files (15000 by 15000 pixels) into smaller squares (2500 by 2500 pixels) that each sit on a separate layer.

The idea is that After Effects can easily animate the smaller tiles and avoid the memory buffer issues you get with very large files.

I’ve never used slices before but I noticed that if I create guide lines then Photoshop can auto-slice up the image along the guidelines into exactly the proportions I’m after.

So my question… is there any easy and quick way to turn these auto slices into cropped layers?

Previously I’ve gone through each file and manually cropped each square (with guides added and snap to guides enabled) and then copied and pasted it. This does exactly what I need but it is painfully slow and I’ve a lot of images to work on. If you cut and paste Photoshop centres the layer but I need it to sit right above where it came from and for the layers to appear to be one seamless image.

Does anyone have any ideas on this?

Many thanks.

John

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

DP
Daryl_Pritchard
Feb 14, 2007
John,

A similar question was posted recently, simply about converting slices to layers, but PS provides no such tool that can be applied to anything more than creation of a single layer from the slices. While an action can be made to expedite the process yet still requiring individual, manual selection of each slice, it isn’t a practical solution for someone needing to process many slices in that fashion.