DS
Posted By
Doug_Silver
Jun 8, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
First the straightforward question: I could not find anything under "preferences" to allow me to change the default directory that opens with the "browse" command. Does Adobe always want to browse to the directory that was last opened?

Now the more esoteric question. I am new to this type of software and am trying to get a feel for how and when to use the various tools. I know the basics like how to use the levels tool to improve exposure but that is about it. I can understand what layers are but don’t really have a clue as to when to use them for a basic photograph. I bought a few books (the one by Scott Kilby and another called Hidden Powers) but these mainly go through the mechanics of doing something with an image. There is obviously a skill that enables one to look at an image and somehow know the various tools, layers, techniques that will need to be used to improve it. In other words, learing the tools is one thing, but formulating what tools to use when is another. Are there some basic books or tutorials that start at a more fundamental level?

Thanks.

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

JH
Jim_Hess
Jun 8, 2004
Doug,

Personally, I believe the best way to learn Photoshop Elements is to get a few images and just start experimenting. Don’t put pressure on yourself to start producing meaningful results on critical photographs in the beginning. Just take some time to go through the books that you already have because they are very good. And as you go through the books just think of different ways to apply the things that you are learning. I don’t use every method that is taught in the books. I only use what I feel that I need.