CS3, Mac OS 10.5.5, Epson 3800 Printing Problems (v6.11)

RE
Posted By
Ralph_Eisenberg
Oct 6, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Since recently migrating to MacIntel running an obligatory 10.5.5 , I’ve been encountering problems printing to my Epson 3800 of 2 kinds that had previously not arisen on PPC based Macs using 10.4+: 1) When switching media that requires a change of black ink (photo black to matte or vice versa) there does not seem to be a straightforward way to go about this without encountering glitches (previously this had been handled smoothly by the driver); 2) The driver indicates randomly that my paper feed parameters are incorrect for a given job, when in fact this is not the case, and this makes printing needlessly irksome and inefficient. This is a marvelous printer that I’ve been using for the past 15 months so I’d appreciate any suggestions that would allow me to remedy these problems.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

R
Ram
Oct 6, 2008
Ralph,

The first thing to investigate is whether Epson has updated drivers for your printer that are compatible with Leopard.

For instance, I have the older Epson 2200 and Epson will NOT bring out Leopard compatible drivers for that model, and that is just one of the many, many reasons I’m not touching Leopard with a ten-foot pole.
AW
Allen_Wicks
Oct 6, 2008
Personally I am still on 10.4.11, but 10.5x drivers exist. First step with Epson printing anomalies is to download and install the appropriate driver, even if you currently have that same driver installed. Of course, repair Permissions before and after the installation.
R
Ram
Oct 6, 2008
Allen,