Posted By
Paul_Sissons
Apr 5, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello, Can anyone help me?

I’m a Designer for a web news organisation with a question.

We have over a hundred journalists that use Photoshop 5 at a very basic level, croping, correcting, adding borders to images. As what they do is so basic and only utilising about 5% of what PhotoShop can do we are thinking about converting the journalists to Elements.
The Problem is we have a large ammount of ‘Actions’ which the journalists use to carry out tasks at speed such as ‘adding black border’ and ‘adding picture credits’. Is there anyway to add/create actions/recipes for Elements which can be easily used by amateur PC users?

Thanks.

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

MR
Mark_Reibman
Apr 5, 2004
Paul,

Yes there is a way. Through the use of the Hidden Power of Photoshop Elements, see <http://www.hiddenelements.com> you can now use and write actions. I haven’t bothered to write any on my own (it’s not as easy as Photoshop, but doable) but people are doing it.

Also, check out this link and at the bottom of the page there are some instructions for writing actions using Lings interface for actions.

<http://www.geocities.com/rnlnero/PE2stuff2.html>

As far as I know,you do need a full version of Photoshop to write actions. I don’t know if version PS 5 writes actions. But Photoshop Elements is certainly capable of reading actions now with the add ons mentioned.
PS
Paul_Sissons
Apr 5, 2004
Thanks very much Mark, I’ll check those out.
RL
Richard_Lynch
Apr 7, 2004
You need version 6 pf Photoshop or better to write actions that are compatible with Elements. Search for a demo on Jumbo.com or other shareware sites.