BM
Posted By
bijan_moghadam
Nov 30, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am new to elements . When I open new pictures in elements it all goes to the same layer . how would i assign a separate layer to each picture. Even when I create a new file, it ends up in the same layer. Much thanks in advance

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

BH
Beth_Haney
Nov 30, 2003
bijan, I’m not sure exactly what your question is. Are you trying to place more than one picture in the same image file?

I think of you describe to us what you’re trying to accomplish we’ll be able to help you.
BM
bijan_moghadam
Nov 30, 2003
Hi Beth, the book gives an example of layers with a head of a lion, a map , the word AFRICA and etc . But each one has its own layer. I saw a practice in the photoshop magazine, where it says to open a picture of a skyline which I did. Then to open a close up picture and use the Ellptical Marqee selecting the face and use move tool to drag it to the skyline picture . In this example, the skyline and the face had their own layers, but when I try to do this, everything is in one layer already . When I open a picture of a skyline it has its own layer but when I open a close up picture to use the Marqee on the face, it is in the same layer as the skyline . How would i assign a layer to a new picture . When I use a Marqee , do I need to cut it to move it and then assign a layer to it . Once again I apprecite your help
BH
Beth_Haney
Nov 30, 2003
Hmmm. I’m thinking!

First, you do have your Layers palette open, don’t you? I thought so.

Ok, step 1, you have the image open with the skyline you want to use as the background of your new picture. You leave that open on your desktop, and while it’s the active image you’re looking at just one layer in the Layers palette.