JE
Posted By
James_Earl_Jones
May 15, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am just starting out…I have set the canvas at 8 x 10. The print size I want is 8 x 10. My resolution is only at 280.6. How do I increase the resolution without increasing the print size. The image is coming of a cd.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

R
Ram
May 15, 2004
JEJ,

In response to another post of yours elsewhere, I already gave you a link to a thread that discussed this in great detail. Read it again.

My advice is to print your image as is. You may lose more in the process of upsampling to 300ppi or 360ppi that you would gain. If you still want to do it, and I repeat I would not recommend it in this particular case, use Photoshop’s Bicubic Smooth resampling method to specify the new resolution you want with the resampling box checked. Leave the dimensions alone, of course.

Incidentally, it doesn’t matter one bit where your image is coming from.
PF
Peter_Figen
May 15, 2004
In the Image Menu, choose Image Size and check the Resample Image box. Type in the resolution you want. If you’re printing on an inkjet, 280 ppi is plenty, but this is how to do what you are asking.
JE
James_Earl_Jones
May 15, 2004
So are you saying it really isn’t going to make any difference or there is no way to increase it w/o resampling?
R
Ram
May 15, 2004
JEJ,

Try it out both ways and see for yourself. You’re never going to learn otherwise.
JE
James_Earl_Jones
May 15, 2004
Ramon, I have read that link and will read it again. Everyone keeps telling me "You want to try to get it over 330 or more…." I guess I am just confused.
AW
Allen_Wicks
May 15, 2004
The image is what it is. Set the size to 8×10 without resampling and print it. Let your eyes be the judge.
R
Ram
May 15, 2004
JEJ,

So are you saying it really isn’t going to make any difference or there is no way to increase it w/o resampling?