AB
Posted By
Arthur_Bogut
Oct 7, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I can’t produce a drop shadow using Adobe Help Info or a Photoshop Elements book that I bought. What do I need to do? Please be clear, I’m not an expert.

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

BG
Byron_Gale
Oct 7, 2003
Arthur,

In your Layers palette, select the layer which contains the object which you wish to give a shadow.

Open the Layer Styles palette, and choose Drop Shadows from the drop-down list at the top of the page. Then choose from the available shadows.

Once you have selected a shadow, go back to the Layers palette and you’ll see a cursive "f" symbol on that layer. Double-click the "f" and you’ll be able to adjust the shadow depth and angle.

HTH,

Byron
JF
Jodi_Frye
Oct 8, 2003
just to add a little to Byron’s excellent post…be sure the object is alone on it’s own layer. If you need help putting the object on it’s own layer please come back and we’ll help.
PD
Pete_D
Oct 8, 2003
Arthur,

If I have guessed wrong I apologize, but I think maybe you don’t know that you need to first "select" the portion of the image that you want to shadow (for instance a person or object in a scene). Unless you want to "paint" a shadow on your image you need to isolate the part you wish to shadow by selecting it and creating a new layer of that selection.

To select it use the magic wand or if you have PSE2 you can use the "selection brush".

Once selected then create a "new layer" by going to Layer (on the menu at the top of the screen) and then choose "new" and then "layer via copy". This will create a "New Layer" that has just the selected object.