SR
Posted By
Schraven Robert
Jun 28, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
PE2 is my first digital photo software so I am pretty new to all the goodies of digital photography including the printing of pictures.
However I start to get used to the basics and now notice that the picture on my monitor is significantly different from the one I get via a print out.
The real thing is sharper and I find more colour variations. So mostly good things however it also means that I cannot control the enhancement of a picture as I would not know how the printed version would look like untill I printed it.

I believe from what I read in this forum that I need to calibrate my monitor.

Would you agree and if so how do I go about it?

Robert

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

NS
Nancy S
Jun 28, 2003
Schraven Robert,

Calibrating one’s monitor is the essential beginning step in achieving a close match between monitor and printer. Ian Lyons has a great website with tons of useful information. PE2 has the same engine as PS7 and so I add a link here to his site. It is best if you can get some information from your monitor manufacturer before profiling, like the chromacity (ex:the white point). If one cannot get the actual values you will need to know what kind of phosphor (sp?) your monitor has. After you do some reading, come back if you have questions, there are lots of knowledgable folks on this forum more than happy to help.

<http://www.computer-darkroom.com/ps7-colour/ps7_2.htm>

Nancy
SR
Schraven Robert
Jun 29, 2003
Nancy,

Thank you for your help.

I tell you what. That calibration is urgently required!