Posted By
Daniel Masse
May 28, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello all !

I am a newbie at color management, and I am trying to understand…

1. I load an image, with the sRGB profile. It will be displayed in PS using my monitor profile : the colors will be displayed as well as possible (assuming my monitor is calibrated and profiled. It is). Correct ?

2. From what I have read, I should work on my image in the sRGB workspace, using my monitor profile, then check the result I will obtain on my printer, using soft-profiling. This operation then involves a number of trips between the two profiles. Correct ?

3. I understand that soft profiling does not actually change my image : why not make the changes to my image directly under soft-profiling ? I would still have the advantage of the wide gamut of my workspace (sRGB). Does that make sense ?

Thanks !

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

MR
Mike Russell
May 28, 2004
Daniel Masse wrote:
Hello all !

I am a newbie at color management, and I am trying to understand…
1. I load an image, with the sRGB profile. It will be displayed in PS using my monitor profile : the colors will be displayed as well as possible (assuming my monitor is calibrated and profiled. It is). Correct ?

Absolutely.

2. From what I have read, I should work on my image in the sRGB workspace, using my monitor profile, then check the result I will obtain on my printer, using soft-profiling. This operation then involves a number of trips between the two profiles. Correct ?

Normaly I just work in sRGB, and print. The difference between the screen and the print is normally subtle, and in any case the overall brightness and shadow detail in the print is the same as that of the monitor.