Posted By
Rightmer_Mike
Mar 1, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi, I’ve got a good one for you.
I’m pretty new at using PS Elements. I do the same tasks with it each day, though. I open the program.
I open a directory,
pull out a jpg (1.jpg)
and resize it to 3.5 inches.
Then Save with same name(overwriting the original.)

Go to the directory,
pull out a jpg (2.jpg)

Go to the directory,
pull out a jpg (3.jpg)

This is the process I go through each day.

My question is…..

Is there a way to set up PS Elements to do some of these steps for me? I use Excel at work, and the Macros feature is a life(and time)saver. Is there anything similar I can use to cut my workload in 1/2 and increase my productivity?

Thanks in advance for your replies..

Rightmer

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

BG
Byron Gale
Mar 1, 2004
Rightmer,

Take a look at the Batch Processing feature of PSE2. (File > Batch Processing…).

It should be able to do what you describe.

You don’t mention whether you are using v1 or v2 of PSE, and I do not know if Batch is in v1, so apologies in advance if this advice is null for you.

Byron
BH
Beth_Haney
Mar 1, 2004
In Photoshop, you’re describing an ‘Action’, but that’s one of the features Adobe left out of Elements in order to cut the price and make it affordable for the average consumer wanting an almost professional grade digital editing program. Elements is capable of playing most Actions created in full Photoshop, and especially one similar to what you’re describing; however, the action would have to be written in the full version. If you know someone who has full PS, you could ask them to do it for you and then run it from your software.
RM
Rightmer_Mike
Mar 1, 2004