Posted By
Graham_Hart
Feb 10, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi,
I am new to using Photo Shop Elements and I seem to be doing something wrong here…

Some people I am working with supplied me with some gif images which should have had a transparent background. (they created them in Illustrator and exported them as gif.

When I use the images on the web, there is a pixel or two of light (white) on the border of the transparent areas. This ruins the image and makes them unusable as they stand.

The people who suplpied them to me are not sure how to fix it in illustrator.

What I want to do in Photoshop elements is to read is to select the offending pixels (the rest of the image is fairly dark so its a reasonably narrow range of colours) and just tell them to be transparent.

I tried to follow through the use of the Replace Colour option to change the selected pixels. I think I select the pixels ok .. but I was hoping to be able to change them to transparent, but the options are Hue Saturation and Lightness. Is there a combination of these that is considered transparent ?

The sort of thing I was looking for was a tool that I could brush around the image with which changed one colour to another …

Anyway .. enough rambling .. I hope that this explains the problem .. I would appreciate any advice…

(also, if anyone happens to know why this happens in Illustrator, I would appreciate knowing that .. I could get the other guys to produce them correctly 🙂 )

Cheers and thanks, in advance, for your help …

Graham

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

JF
Jodi_Frye
Feb 10, 2004