CM
Posted By
Czarek_Mart
Feb 7, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I have purchased a PrimeFilm 3650u film scanner which comes with Adobe Elements 2.0 and Cyberview X. For testing I scanned a series of color negatives for which I already had prints. However, the quality of scanned images is terrible. The colors are completely off, they are terribly pink and they are not even close to the quality of the prints.
I am not an imaging expert so I don’t know how to adjust color settings with the Adobe Photoshop to get the exact setting as on the prints, but I believe there must be some automated setting to adjust the picture immediately on one click. The ‘pink’ problem seems to be common for all scanned color negatives.
Does anyone know how to fix it. It seems to be too common for not being solved. Thanks

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

BH
Beth_Haney
Feb 7, 2004
I couldn’t find much information on the web about using Cyberview X, but it sounds as though you might need to make some adjustments in the scanning software itself. And are you getting this pink tinge when printing, too, or just when viewing on the monitor? The first thing you need to do is make sure your monitor is calibrated properly. From that point, on there are a wide range of color management issues that will impact the relationship between scans, monitor views, and printed output.

Cyberview X seems to be the software version for Mac OS X, right?

Here are a couple of very good sites on which you’ll find information about color management. On the first one, you may want to go back to the main page and check out the items under "Features". There’s a section in there on monitor calibration under Mac OS X which might be helpful.

<http://www.computer-darkroom.com/ps7-colour/ps7_1.htm>

<http://www.normankoren.com/color_management.html>