LK
Posted By
Leen Koper
Sep 20, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m a pro photographer for almost too many years now and a lot of features in Elements remind me of the "good old days" in the darkroom.
Like the dodging tool. Once upon a time we used to accentuate the eyes in portraits by dodging them a little. This way they attracted just a little more attention. Nobody noticed, but the images were just a little better.

When I went digital I tried to repeat the same trick. It worked, but rather often the dodged area showed a blue cast. And not everyone has blue eyes….
I tried -the other way around-to select the eyes, feather set to about 100, inversed the selection and darkened the whole image using levels. Deselected everything and brightened the whole image until I was back to the same tones. This works, but it takes me too much time.

Anyone out there that knows how to avoid this blue cast?

Leen

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

CS
Chuck Snyder
Sep 20, 2003
Leen, you don’t think the underlying image has a blue cast that’s brought out by the dodging? I don’t know how the dodging tool actually performs its function, but I would think it would just be increasing the brightness component of the HSB values for each pixel. Perhaps not….

I’ve switched over to the ‘non-destructive’ method of dodging recommended by Scott Kelby, which involves creating a new layer in Overlay or Soft Light Mode, filling it neutral color (50% gray) then painting on the layer with a soft low opacity brush, white for dodging, black for burning. Might be interesting to see if that would give the same sort of results or would avoid the blue color cast…
LK
Leen Koper
Sep 20, 2003
Chuck, thank you. I didnot know this method (like so many other methods). I’ll give it a try next week in the studio.