Posted By
tommy
Jul 30, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
hi

I am getting a notebook to work with PS and wonder what sort of hardware specs to get …..
there are those with HT cpu and there is the new 715 with 2MB L2 cache but there is really no benchmark that shows which is better at photoshop

I will be getting 512 MB ram
is that more than enough for 6MB raw CANON 10D files ? ?

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

MR
Mike Russell
Jul 30, 2004
tommy wrote:
hi

I am getting a notebook to work with PS and wonder what sort of hardware specs to get …..
there are those with HT cpu and there is the new 715 with 2MB L2 cache but there is really no benchmark that shows which is better at photoshop

I have no direct experience, but rumor has it that hyperthreading does not do much for Photoshop.

It’s 6 megapixels, if you convert to a 16 bit image, you’ll be using 6x3x2 = 36 MB per image. Even at 8 bits, you’ll be using 18 MB per image, and Photoshop generally uses double the actual memory to support an image.

Then there’s the overhead of Photoshop itself, and the OS, both of which are competing for memory like there’s a pie eating contest hosted inside your computer.

I’d get at least a gig, perferably 2 if this will be your primary system. Photoshop wants lots of memory, and even 4 gig would not be overdoing it.

Memory is something you can add on later, but do make sure you can upgrade your notebook to a gig minimum, and that you’re not painting yourself into a corner with the number of memory sticks (one?) your notebook will accept. —

Mike Russell
www.curvemeister.com
www.geigy.2y.net
PW
Pjotr Wedersteers
Jul 30, 2004
Mike Russell wrote:
tommy wrote:
hi

I have no direct experience, but rumor has it that hyperthreading does not do much for Photoshop.