KH
Posted By
Karl Hiller
Jul 13, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
This is a case of "I’m not an expert; I just need to do this one thing with Photoshop."

I’m using 7.0 and I need to re-do the map of the two floors of the library where I work. I scanned in the old map, saved it as a TIFF, and painstakingly edited it bit-by-bit until the second floor was nice and clear. (The old map was numerous photocopy generations old and looked like crap.) I was using the Brush tool for this, and the Mode that is checked in the Image menu is "bitmap". The map is in black and white, and the Brush draws nice sharp-edged squares, just the way I want it to.

I don’t really want to do the first floor this way. The second floor is smaller and has less detail, and it took forever to redraw because I was working in the same layer — erasing and redrawing and erasing and redrawing. I decided to try my hand at layers: Take a copy of the second floor map, erase everything except the things that exist on both floors (external walls, stairs, etc.), and then add the scan of the first floor map as a transparent layer. Then, use the first floor scan as a guide for drawing the new map, and delete the layer when I’m done.

However, every single thing on the Layer menu is greyed out. I cannot add a layer. I have my second-floor map saved as a TIFF, and I tried saving it as a PSD, but I can’t add a layer either way. The only way I can add a layer is to change the image mode from Bitmap to Greyscale… And when I do that, the Brush tool refuses to draw the nice sharp black pixels that I want to use.

I either need to get a layer into my black-and-white bitmap, or I need to be able to draw non-fuzzy lines in the greyscale, layered map.

I’ve flipped through some books and hunted for an answer on the web, but turned up nothing. What am I missing?

thanks

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

L
Larry
Jul 13, 2004