ME
Posted By
Monte_Evans
Feb 22, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am a photographer and user of Photoshop since version 5. I have the new CS version loaded on Windows XP with 1 Mg of RAM and a 2.4GHz Pentium processor. I have noticed while working even mundane tasks, such as using the healing brush in a small area, that Photoshop seems to stop responding for anywhere from 30-45 seconds and then resumes working again. I have a 20G second physical hard drive set aside solely for my scratch disk. This is becoming a real nuisance. It doesn’t seem to matter whether I am using 16 bit files or 8 bit files. I have talked to several other photographers who are experiencing the exact same problem. Is this a bug or is there something I can do to alleviate this "hang problem"?

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

FN
Fred_Nirque
Feb 22, 2004
Monte,

Have you updated your video card drivers recently?

Set the Hardware acceleration slider in Display Properties> Settings> Advanced> Troubleshoot to None, and see if the problem stops. If it does it is most likely your card drivers causing the problem.

Fred.
L
LenHewitt
Feb 22, 2004
Monte,

What do you have your Photoshop Memory allocation set to?
ME
Monte_Evans
Feb 28, 2004
I have an up to date video driver and I have the memory allocation set at 50%. I did have it at 70%, thinking it would be better. I see no difference between 50 or 70%.
Monte
CC
Chris_Cox
Feb 28, 2004
I don’t think I’ve heard anyone else reporting that exact problem.

Do you have a remote printer, or file server that might be timing out?
D
D._Jirsa
Feb 29, 2004
I am having a similar problem…I am running cs on win xp pro.2gb of ram 2-120gb hard drives…memory set to 85% and no other programs running…When I have more than 3-18mb files open at the same time my system is so slow I end up going back to 7.01…at this time cs effency is showing at 5-8%… anyone know why…