BE
Posted By
Bob_Eveleigh
Aug 11, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m still fairly new to a Mac having been a Windows PC user for years. I certainly like what I’ve seen so far. Reasonably competent with Photoshop CS3 and have loaded Mac version.

Main printer is Epson R2400 but also use Canon Pixma iP8500 and both worked fine with PC.

I had a number of CS3 files set up in a folder on my Windows PC and copied these on to my Mac. Some involve an image of 7.5" x 5.5" centred (on A4 canvas) and then framed by a thin 1px border of 10" x 8". These are for a particular task I perform and they need to be like that. Also have a lot of straightforward images in folders where I resize them to say 12" x 10" and then print out.

All seem to print out larger than I’m telling them to do. For example, the images with the 1px border of 10" x 8" print out about 0.25" bigger. This isn’t a huge problem with the other images but the 1px bordered ones need to be exactly the size I specify (apart from it frustrating me that it won’t do what I ask!). What I’m doing is to reduce the scale to about 98% and then it comes out near enough to what I want.

Anyone have any tips?

Thanks,

Bob

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

NK
Neil_Keller
Aug 11, 2008
Bob,

All things being equal, the prints should be identical, whether run out of a Win or Mac machine. But the control is within the Epson software, and a side-by-side comparison of the settings would be in order. I would also suggest to first be sure that your Page Setup… is configured exactly the same way on both machines.

Neil
JP
jean_p
Aug 11, 2008
are you printing borderless? If so, what expansion setting are you using?
BE
Bob_Eveleigh
Aug 11, 2008
Thanks to Neil & Jean for your replies.