Closed
Dear experts,

Recently, I bought the Nikon coolscan 5000
and did some scans.

The digical ICE did a fabulous job on the color
negatives and transparencies. There were no
flaws that I could see at all. Even though
there were flaws on the images.

Then I scanned some black and white negs.
And I saw soooo many flaws. Scratches,
dust, etc.

I have no experience in Photoshop yet.

What is the best way to retouch all the flaws out?

Is there a software that can make the retouching
easier? Something like a digital eraser of sorts?

I don’t want to do this pixel by pixel.

Thanks a lot!

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

DD
David Dyer-Bennet
Jan 26, 2007
wrote:
Dear experts,

and did some scans.

dust, etc.

Yes, ICE is awsome. Too bad silver grains are opaque in the infrared :-).

I do this by using the spot healing brush, operating on a separate layer, with "sample all layers" checked (name approximate).

It’s still an amazing pain; for my typical highschool negatives (1970-1972) I spend 10 minutes to half an hour on each one, unless there are also long scratches, in which case it can be worse.

There’s a Polaroid plugin that attempts to automate it; I haven’t used it, and no close friends swear by it, so I can’t really give you any information.

What I can see at 200% is a LOT worse than what I can see if I make a 4×5 print, or even an 8×10 print; which suggests that I’m cleaning up more than I really have to.
C
CSM1
Jan 26, 2007
wrote in message
Dear experts,

and did some scans.

dust, etc.

I don’t want to do this pixel by pixel.

Thanks a lot!
You must learn to use Photoshop or Photoshop Elements. Read the Help.

Photoshop has several tools to clean up photos.

The Dust and Scratch filter works for some things. Dust and Scratch is one of the tools in the Noise group of filters.