AR
Posted By
Andrea_Russell
Nov 28, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am a print designer mostly. I have always avoided web design but at this point in owning my own business I see I am turning down way too much work in the form of websites. What is the easiest way to learn. I have taught myself everything I know. I use photoshop CS, In Design all of the above. Now I just need to figure out how to design a site.

I mean I know NOTHING about the web. So I feel overwhelmed with having to learn it. Should I take a class if so who teaches that. I can’t even find a class at my local colleges. I know there is Version Q in In Design. Is that different than conventional web design?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

PM
Paul M Norman
Nov 28, 2006
Here’s a very good place to start: <http://www.lynda.com> You would do well to purchase a copy of Dreamweaver.
B
Buko
Nov 28, 2006
I would do you good to take a class at a community college to get a basic understanding.
CC
Craig_Cheatham
Nov 30, 2006
One thing I’ve discovered in taking on web design is that it is a constantly changing landscape. I use Dreamweaver in combination with BBEdit and several books to try to learn HTML. The thing is that standards and conventions are constantly changing. What I learned of HTML several years ago is only partially useful because now most things are better being designed using CSS and XHTML.

So my advice is this:
You might consider working with a programmer, so that YOU would develop the visual layout and navigation, YOU supply the digital content, and YOUR PROGRAMMER handles designing good code and testing across all the browsers.