DE
Posted By
dwayne epps
Aug 5, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m trying to create a simple drawing of a hydraulic cylinder and every attempt I’ve made so far looks terrible. I’ve tried using the pen tool and the render 3D filter, which has been okay, but I really haven’t had much luck. Does anyone have a suggestion to help point me in the right direction on how to draw an object like this? Perhaps a tutorial that walks through some methods to achieve something similar? I’m still a novice with Photoshop, so my skills are not very proficient in this area. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
-D-

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

C
Cheesefood
Aug 5, 2003
Creating realistic 3-D images in Photoshop is quite advanced. It’s not a 3-D rendering software. Not to say that it’s impossible – nothing is impossible in Photoshop – it’s just hard to do.
BC
bart.cross
Aug 5, 2003
dwayne: just create the outline and use a gradient fill. It will work quite nicely if you are looking for something simple.
DM
Don McCahill
Aug 5, 2003
I never try "drawing" anything in Photoshop. It is a photo manipulation tool. If I want to draw something, I use Adobe Illustator, a drawing tool. Then I bring it into Photoshop (if necessary).
R
R7
Aug 6, 2003
This site has a few photoshop tutorials that may help:
http://www.myjanee.com/ps.htm
You can also do a search on google for the same.
S
Stroker
Aug 6, 2003
You can get trueSpace 3.2 for free.
Sounds perfect for this kind of thing.
Also good for other 3d things.
And it’s not that hard to learn. At least I didn’t have trouble figuring it out.

<http://forms.caligari.com/forms/ts3all_free.html>
DM
dave milbut
Aug 6, 2003
cool. thanks stroker.
H
Ho
Aug 6, 2003
dwayne,