Newbie to PS — is there a way to do the BASICS?

B
Posted By
BULCmale
Jun 25, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m new to PhotoShop CS, after years of Paint Shop Pro, and I’d have to say that so far, trying to use PhotoShop has been one of the most supremely frustrating software experiences I’ve ever encountered.

All I want to do is draw a cream-coloured trapezoid with a red border. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to do it. I got as far as a cream-coloured trapezoid, but there doesn’t seem to be anything that enables me to simply select the shape and increase the width of the line (path? stroke? [I’m about to have one, so I guess it must be "stroke".])

I don’t want to "stroke a path", "create a clipping mask" or "fizzblitt the gultifacted mabubu ontiflurk". I just want to draw a trapezoid. Most people don’t want to select the optimal titanium-alloy 3/4" secure-lock masonry-but-not-metal helical bit — they just want to drill a hole.

Does it really HAVE TO be so $&*($%^#@!! complex and obtuse?

I’m really sorry if this comes off as bitchy, but yes I am extremely frustrated and I truly feel that if this is the state of the art in graphic-arts software, then the art is in a pretty sorry state. Usefulness is a great thing, but don’t forsake USABILITY in the process!

So how does one simply draw a cream-coloured trapezoid with a red border?

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

H
Hexebah
Jun 25, 2004
Select Cream as your foreground colour

Select the Pen tool and click the Shape Layer button (1st of 3 button set) on the left of your Option Bar.

Click to place points and make trapezoid and close the path by clicking the starting point. This creates a shape layer with editable bezier paths. If your shape isn’t Cream choose Edit>Fill and select your foreground colour from the Pop-up.