Using PhotoShop to add highlighting to Tiffs???

HA
Posted By
Hiram_Andrews
Apr 21, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Is it possible to use PhotoShop to add highlighting to scanned (non-ocr-ed) documents (Tiffs)? I have never used PhotoShop before but thought it would solve all of my problems. I’ve tried adding the highlighting in other programs but without any luck. When I open the Tiff in Photoshop, I can’t even get it to add colored boxes, never mind transparent boxes that would act as highlighting. Is there any way to do this with Photoshop? Any other suggestions?

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

MM
Mac_McDougald
Apr 21, 2004
Your document TIFF is probably bitmap (black and white only) or possibly grayscale.

At any rate, you will have to convert to RGB mode to do any coloring of any kind.

Under File/Mode. If Bitmap, first convert to GrayScale, then convert the GrayScale to RGB.

Then you can highlight with color with brush or other tool. Best probably to make a new layer and highlight on that layer, then you can vary the opacity of your color overlay.

Note that resaved as TIF these images will be MUCH larger than the ones you start with, file size wise.

May be overkill for what you need to do, might be better in Word or something…

Mac
GD
glen_deman
Apr 21, 2004
Is this for black text on white paper, or something else? How do you want to highlight it?

If you just want something like a yellow highlight box around black text on white paper, you could create a new layer, draw your colored box, and set the layer mode to multiply.

If your text is against a colored background, you might try creating a new layer, adding a box with a very light color, and setting the mode to overlay.

Could you describe or post a link to the document in question? That would help to give you a better solution.
HA
Hiram_Andrews
Apr 21, 2004
Thanks Glen and Mac!