Posted By
vreijs
Oct 11, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello all of you,

I undersatnd PS is workngn in the D50 reference white space. I was wondering if there is a facility to change the white reference in a picture (so that it is lighting in a different environment, D65, A, B, C or other color temperature).
This could be implemented by using for instance the Bradford transform.

I can’t find this in the help files. Can someone help me?

All the best,

Victor

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

GH
Gernot_Hoffmann
Oct 11, 2003
Victor,

working space and monitor space are defined for white point D65. Prints are optimized for D50 in a way that the appearance is VERY SIMILAR to the monitor.

I don´t think that you can directly shift the color temperature of neutral gray in an image by PhS,
but I am not a PhS expert.

The shift to D50 (red-ish look) or to D93 (blue-ish look) is done by a matrix multiplication RGB-new=M*RGB-old.
The accurate algorithm is available, but for simple tests this will be be sufficient: (1) for D65–D50: multiply R by 1.1765, G by 0.9765 , B by 0.7218 (2) for D65–D93: multiply R by 0.8986, G by 0.9938 , B by 1.3602 By the way, this will cause clipping problems for Red (1) or Blue (2) . Green is not much modified.
Perhaps it helps to adjust an image towards the one direction or the other.

Best regards –Gernot Hoffmann
GH
Gernot_Hoffmann
Oct 11, 2003
Victor,

forgot to add that this has to be done in the linear RGB working space. R=R´^gamma. Apply modification. R´= R^(1/gamma).

G.H.
V
vreijs
Oct 11, 2003
Oke understand it Gernot,

One thing though; I understood that PhotoShop was using sRGB with D50, instead of the standard definition of sRGB at D65. You are now saying it is sRGB at D65 for PhotoShop, are you sure?
See also: