Posted By
scott.siegler
Oct 2, 2012
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hello,

I am relatively new to photoshop. I am getting better with layers but have a question I hope someone can answer.

I would like to enhance shadow after applying a levels adjustment layer.

However, since you can’t add an adjustment layer for shadow enhancement, how would I go about adding some type of layer on top of the levels adjustment layer so I could make further tweaks?

Also, as I am new to photo retouching – when retouching a photo, is the preferred method to first make shadow enhancements and then add a levels adjustment or to make the levels adjustment first.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

TC
tony cooper
Oct 3, 2012
On Tue, 2 Oct 2012 11:58:56 -0700 (PDT),
wrote:

Hello,

I am relatively new to photoshop. I am getting better with layers but have a question I hope someone can answer.

However, since you can’t add an adjustment layer for shadow enhancement, how would I go about adding some type of layer on top of the levels adjustment layer so I could make further tweaks?

Also, as I am new to photo retouching – when retouching a photo, is the preferred method to first make shadow enhancements and then add a levels adjustment or to make the levels adjustment first.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

You have "Shadows/Highlights" as a drop-down under Adjustments. You have to experiment to know how much to tweak each slider to get the effect you want, but pay attention to the Midtone Contrast slider. The default is zero, but it needs to be brought up in most images.