Posted By
Third Time Lucky
Apr 4, 2010
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi

I want to cut a person from a photograph and save it as it is. I want to do this with several photso then join them all up on one big photo with a nice background.
Any ideas how this can be done please?

Thanks

— —

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

JD
Joe D
Apr 4, 2010
On Sun, 4 Apr 2010 08:52:38 -0400, Third Time Lucky wrote (in article <hpa238$2ofd$>):

Hi

I want to cut a person from a photograph and save it as it is. I want to do this with several photso then join them all up on one big photo with a nice background.
Any ideas how this can be done please?

Thanks

— —

Yes: with a lot of work.

Sorry, I don’t mean to be snippy, but it’s a time-consuming, challenging and ultimately very rewarding feat. I couldn’t begin to describe it though, since I’m not an expert and have only done it when the person I wanted to remove was on the end of a line of people.

I did remove someone’s head once and put another version of it in its place; a better image and representation of that person.

Joe Dee from NYC
LL
Leo Lichtman
Apr 4, 2010
"Joe D" wrote: Yes: with a lot of work. (clip) ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
And that’s an understatement. If you don’t care how convincing the result is, you just select each of the people and copy/paste them over the background. Here’s what you will encounter:

1. The lighting on each person must come from the same direction. Good luck with that.
2. Most people have hair, which blends into the background in gentle, semi-transparent ways. Selecting around this is very, very difficult.
3. The people have to look like they belong together. If you don’t have
the right combination of skill and luck, they will just look pasted on.
4. You will probably find that some of the people have parts missing/