D
Posted By
Dugjak
Jun 1, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am new to Photoshop 8 CS. I am scanning photographs for a book that will be offset printed, problem is that some of the original photographs are no longer available and I have to work from either newspaper prints or prints in existing books. When I do this I get a ‘moire’ effect and the printed scans are unsatisfactory. My scanning software does not have a control to remove this effect (at least I cannot find one). I have read that I should use a blur effect. Is there a filter in photoshop designed for this or a particular plug-in that will assist me?

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

XT
xalinai_Two
Jun 1, 2004
On Tue, 1 Jun 2004 19:58:05 +1000, "Dugjak"
wrote:

I am new to Photoshop 8 CS. I am scanning photographs for a book that will be offset printed, problem is that some of the original photographs are no longer available and I have to work from either newspaper prints or prints in existing books. When I do this I get a ‘moire’ effect and the printed scans are unsatisfactory. My scanning software does not have a control to remove this effect (at least I cannot find one). I have read that I should use a blur effect. Is there a filter in photoshop designed for this or a particular plug-in that will assist me?

Are you asking where to find the blur filter or whether there is a de-moiré plugin?

Michael
D
Dugjak
Jun 2, 2004
My scanning software has a descreen option. I now understand that if I scan at a lower resolution (say 300 dpi instead of 600 dpi) I will get a better result in this situation.

Is there a de-moire plugin for photoshop. If so, what is it called?

"Xalinai" wrote in message
wrote:

I am new to Photoshop 8 CS. I am scanning photographs for a book that
will
be offset printed, problem is that some of the original photographs are
no