HS
Posted By
Hooman_Salari
Jan 11, 2009
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am a freelance designer and been working with PS since its version 5. Most of my client don’t have color management requirements so I never had to deal with this issue. Since CS4 install a few weeks ago, I’ve been having problems getting a new CMYK document to show white background. I have set my color settings to NORTH AMERICA PREPRESS 2 which seems to be the most common setting. Any CMYK document fails to show white color. It shows a yellowish color and I am unable to even overlay it with white. Sorry if I sound amateur but I never had to set anything is previous CS’s. Any help is greatly appreciated.

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

CF
chris_farrell
Jan 11, 2009
Is your monitor hardware calibrated with something like an EyeONE Display2 calibrator.

How does RGB white look?
HS
Hooman_Salari
Jan 11, 2009
Thank you for the response. RGB white looks fine, only when I choose MONITOR COLOR instead of NORTH AMERICA PREPRESS 2. Otherwise, it looks yellow also. And my monitor has not been calibrated (it’s a SAMSUNG SyncMaster 245B Plus purchased two months ago brand new). CMYK and RGB both look OK in Illustrator when I open a new document.
CF
chris_farrell
Jan 11, 2009
Ah! never use Monitor Colour as a profile. Alway use aRGB colour space for print / sRGB for web…etc…not sure what’s best for CYMK as I and my printers don’t use it.

Your best bet is to get your hands on a calibration kit. They can be had for as cheap as £70 and get that monitor profiled properly. If it’s professional work it can be a tax deductable expense…..or maybe you can borrow one.

…just curious…what is the CYMK and RGB value of the yellow/white in CS4?
JC
Jimmy_Chancey
Jan 11, 2009