Editing Help for a newbie…..Please be gentle..

WC
Posted By
Wes_Chormicle
Aug 26, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I am new to Photoshop CS3, in fact, new to photoshop entirely. I have been using MS Digital Image Pro and up until now it has worked for me.

Here is my problem. I take a lot of pictures of coins. Sometimes I have to tilt the coin slightly to get a good rendition of the color. So at time the image is slightly oval.

I can not figure out how to use a tool to outline the coin, cut it (or copy) and paste to another project. The part that I can’t figure out is adjusting the circle marquee tool to the perimeter of the coin.

Thank you for any help.

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

O
OldBob
Aug 26, 2008
Once you draw the circle, try the various tools under Edit > Transform.
P
Phosphor
Aug 26, 2008
This isn’t an answer (which most of us will be happy to offer here), but an alternative that you may not have thought about. I offer it because it was recommended to me when I was having trouble trying to photograph a coin I found.

But: Have you considered scanning your coins instead of photographing them?

I got really good results <http://sparkbox.blogspot.com/2007/10/time-warp-coin.html> almost immediately, with no fussing about with lighting, or dealing with trying to "un-distort" the coins back to circular shape. The image at the link is a composite of both the reverse and the obverse. I didn’t spend a whole lot of time making an accurate selection around the coin, but I’ll admit I went a little overboard with some of the color/exposure corrections. It took virtually no time at all to get a high-resolution, well lit and focused image to start working with. Looking at the big screen image and comparing it to actually looking at the coin in my hand gives pretty favorable results.