PT
Posted By
Polli_Turner
Mar 13, 2008
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Using Photoshop CS2, when I open files with text layers (also created in CS2, just a few minutes earlier) I get a message: "Some text layers might need to be updated before they can be used for Vector output. . ."

I’m new to Photoshop and am wondering what this means and why it’s happening? Is it normal?

Any help appreciated!

Master Retouching Hair

Learn how to rescue details, remove flyaways, add volume, and enhance the definition of hair in any photo. We break down every tool and technique in Photoshop to get picture-perfect hair, every time.

MD
Michael_D_Sullivan
Mar 14, 2008
The images were probably prepared with fonts that either are not installed on your current computer or exist in a different version. The fonts are not embedded in the image file, but the text layers include a rasterized view of the current state of the layer. If you try to edit a text layer, the system needs to use the font to generate the vector view for editing purposes. Likewise if you print to a Postscript printer, which uses the vector version of the text. If you don’t have exactly the font installed as when the image was created, Photoshop will try to guess how it should look, using either a different version of the font or a substitute font, and your results may well vary from what you expected.
CS
Crissy_Sousa
Aug 12, 2008